Live Spotlessly with Murad

About a month ago I got sent this amazing skincare system from Murad to test out. It is their Rapid Lightening Regimen which promotes healthy skin by treating uneven skin tones.

IMG_7142 (2) wm

Murad Rapid Lightening Regimen

 

I was very excited to open the box and find full sized samples of the whole three step regimen plus two additional sample sizes of other products in the line. That really helped me get a feel for their whole beauty process and see results. I must admit though, I was a bit nervous trying this out because my skin is very sensitive and I didn’t think a lightening regimen would apply to me. Needless to say I was wrong and I am pleasantly surprised with the results!

First, let me give you a little background info about the company. Murad was founded by board-certified dermatologist, trained pharmacist and pioneer of the Inclusive Health movement, Dr. Howard Murad. His main goal is to make beautiful, healthy skin attainable for everyone not only from skincare, but encouraging healthy lifestyle choices as well. Personally, I know I can’t afford to spend extravagant amounts of money on skin care, so I’m all for beautiful, healthy skin at an attainable cost. Plus, I am always looking for new ways to keep a healthier lifestyle. Small changes eventually lead to big results!

This Rapid Lightening Regimen is said to treat skin discoloration from the four major causes of hyperpigmentation:

  1. Sun
  2. Genetics
  3. Hormones
  4. Inflammation

Each product in this systematic beauty plan is supposed to treat the problem at the source to help you achieve a more radiant and even toned complexion. By pairing that with small lifestyle changes, these and other topical treatments can work more efficiently!

 

IMG_7120 (3) wm

Murad Essential-C Cleanser

 

First up in the line is the Essential-C Cleanser. It is an antioxidant packed formula which is said to not only cleanse damaged skin, but to rehydrate it as well. Let me say that this is my favorite in the line. I love the texture and the way it feels on my face. It comes out looking like a clear-ish gel, but when smoothed on the skin it feels creamy and simply amazing.

As you my have noticed with some of my past reviews, smell is everything to me. I can not use a product if I am opposed to the smell. This Essential-C Cleanser smells very lightly of fresh oranges and citrus. Normally, I hate citrusy smells, but this actually surprised me with how much I enjoyed the scent. It is very pleasant and refreshing without being overbearing. I think this would be perfect for morning use as a light pick me up!

 

IMG_7122 (2) wm

Murad Rapid Age Spot & Pigment Lightening Serum

 

Next step in the regimen is the Rapid Age Spot and Pigment Lightening Serum. This is supposed to diminish the appearance of hyperpigmentation and dark spots while evening out your skin tone. I have to say I wasn’t a huge fan of this serum. I used it right after the cleanser and immediately wasn’t keen on the smell. Especially after the pleasant aroma of the cleanser, this stuff was just off putting.

Each time I used this I put it all over my face and waited a minute or two before moisturizing. The first time I put on the Essential-C Day moisturizer afterwards, not realizing it was a day lotion with sunscreen. I will talk about that shortly, but I mention it because it didn’t seem to sink into my skin very well after applying the Lightening Serum. The next time I tried the serum I used my normal night moisturizer, but still felt like it didn’t sink into my skin. I gave it one last try and only applied it to certain areas of my face and that seemed to work better.

My skin felt dry in the morning each time I used this serum so for me it probably won’t be something I use again. This would probably work better for those with oilier skin than mine, considering I have very dry skin, especially in these winter months. Actually with that said maybe I will give this serum a go in the summer when I need less moisturizers! Overall, considering the scent and the way it made my skin feel, I would say it’s my least favorite in the line.

 

IMG_7117 (2) wm

Murad Essential-C Day Moisturizer

 

The last step of the beauty plan is the Essential-C Day moisturizer (or the night moisturizer, which I didn’t receive.) Like many of the beauty products in this line, it is an antioxidant-rich formula that not only restores damaged skin but also protects against further damage. As I mentioned the first time I used this was after the Lightening Serum and it didn’t absorb into my skin very well. I had also used it at nighttime not realizing it had 30 SPF! So after this teensy mishap, I had used this during the day and I love it. It has the same light citrusy fragrance as the cleanser plus antioxidants and moisturizing properties. I love that it has 30 SPF so I am protected from damaging elements. Overall this is a great day time moisturizer to wear alone or under makeup.

 

IMG_7132 (2) wm

Murad Treat & Repair samples

 

There are other products in this beauty routine, and I mentioned I received two extra samples from the line to try. Both samples fall into the Step Two Treat and Repair portion. The Advanced Active Radiance Serum helps renew skin by improving brightness, clarity, and radiance. This serum works best when used during the day in place of the Rapid Age Spot Pigment and Lightening Serum. I had used this at night after the cleanser, in place of the other serum, because I almost never wash my face in the morning. For some reason I liked this serum much better than the other. Perhaps I applied less of it, but either way I felt like it wasn’t as drying. This is an important step in the lightening process because this serum is designed to boost skin renewal and also inhibit new pigmentations.

The Intensive-C Radiance Peel is the last sample I received, and should only be used once or twice a week. One of the ingredients is glycolic acid, which sounds super scary, but don’t be afraid! This stuff exfoliates to speed up the process of damaged cell turnover and to remove dullness. I was most nervous with this step, because like I mentioned my skin is so sensitive, but after using I think it’s my second favorite product in the line.

On the back of the tube it expresses that you may feel a slight tingling sensation, but I actually didn’t. I massaged it into my skin and let it sit while I brushed my teeth. After rinsing and patting my face dry, I noticed a difference in my skin coloration immediately! It looked a lot less red and actually quite radiant. I was very surprised it didn’t leave my skin completely parched either. I followed up with my regular night moisturizer and even in the morning, my skin wasn’t dried out. I would say if you are looking for an immediate noticeable difference, try this radiance peel.

 

IMG_7130 (3) wm

Murad Rapid Lightening Regimen

 

All in all my thoughts for this Rapid Lightening Regimen are very positive. I was hesitant going into testing these products, as I am with most new products I apply to my face. At any given moment I could have a terrible reaction and get bumps, break out, turn red, or even worse swell up. Actually just this past week my eyes were swollen shut due to some makeup wipes (more on that later!) So to my pleasant surprise none of these products had any adverse reactions with my skin.

So I feel like it’s safe to say anyone can use this lightening line. Not only did it play nice with my skin, it actually worked. I could see a difference in my skin within the first week of using the beauty products. And continuous use just promotes a radiant complexion. I actually feel more confident leaving the house without makeup, and am enjoying doing so! If you are looking to lighten up any kind of hyperpigmentations or just want more radiant, glowing skin, I would try out this line from Murad!

You can find a direct link to the 90 day line I used here!

There is also a 30 day supply which you can try here!

As an extra bonus I’ve included a link below that will take you to an amazing giveaway from Murad. You can enter to win the whole 90 day Rapid Lightening Regimen I’ve been talking about!  Murad Rapid Lightening Regimen Giveaway

*∗ Although I did receive these products from Beauty Stat to try out for free, all these opinions are my own and the links are just links (meaning they aren’t sponsored or anything!) ∗*

What do you guys think? Have you tried this or anything like it?

bella bee sig

 

Don’t forget to drop by my Instagram!

13 thoughts on “Live Spotlessly with Murad

  1. Pingback: On Wednesdays we… | bella bee

      • I googled forever and ended up soaking those cotton circle pads in ice water and laying them on my eyes for swelling, all day. It was SO bad.. when the swelling finally went down the skin where they were swollen was all crinkly and wrinkled up making me look around 80. :/ It’s like it gave me atopic dermatitis in the eye area, in the worst way! then the skin dried out and got flaky and peel-y until it was finally healed, more than a week later! I used 100% natural aloe and vitamin E cream to soothe and moisturize as not to further irritate. It was a nightmare. I’m super careful of what goes near my eyes now!! LOL

        Like

        • Oh man that does sound like a nightmare! Do you know what ingredient caused it? It’s always terrifying when something doesn’t agree with my skin especially when its on my face!

          Like

          • I know! My skin is quite picky and more so the older I get. 😦 I think I may have figured it out at the time but I can’t remember. It was a cheap-y brand in a time where there were not many brands making the makeup remover wipes like they do now..I made the mistake of assuming they were all the same…I had been using Olay versions at the time so I’m sure these were a ‘compare to’ version. I’m super picky about what I remove my eye makeup with now and do a little ‘patch’ test if I try something new!

            Like

              • I have! In fact; it’s what I am using now! I love the brand; by far the best inexpensive face care brand out and so good for sensitive skin. After using a million high end face washes that claim to do a hundred different things… I’m back to washing with Good old Cetaphil lol and then I use the micellar water for a second cleanse to make certain my face is free of any makeup/residue. Then I move on to all of my next steps. In the morning I wash with the Simple micellar wipes. I like their moisturizer as well!

                Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

