On Wednesday’s we…

LOVE PINK!

Welcome to my Mean Girls inspired series! As I mentioned in my first post (oh hai) I want to post on anything pink related, because why not?! This week I want to talk about a beauty subscription that arrives in pretty pink packaging… Ipsy!

Not long ago I debated a subscription to either Birchbox or Ipsy, and Birchbox won. I of course stalked many an instagram account to see samples of past boxes and bags and ultimately I couldn’t decide. It came down to choosing Birchbox over Ipsy because the quality of products seemed better. Although, as I should have known, things aren’t always as they seem.

IMG_8030 (3) wm

You can read about my first Birchbox experience here, for now let me take a second talking about Ipsy. I really like the idea of getting mostly makeup samples as opposed to hair care and perfume. If I never got either one of these again in my entire life I would be grateful. So Ipsy probably would have been my first choice if I would have known what I was looking for to start with.

You can say the February Pretty in Pink bag left me feeling like I just missed out on something wonderful. After stalking Ipsy’s website and Instagram (yes again,) I realized I would love any combination of makeup samples in the bag options they sent out. I couldn’t say the same for Birchbox, and after that box’s let down (don’t even get me started on March’s box…) I decided I would cave in and give Ipsy a try. Ya know, for all of you curious beauties out there of course! *winky face*

IMG_7739 (2) wm

March Ipsy Glam Bag

Did I mention they call each package a Glam Bag? I mean that’s just amazing in itself! My first Glam Bag arrived in the adorable pink bubble wrap packaging Ipsy is known for. All your goodies are inside an actual makeup bag that they create new each month. This month’s theme was Hello Spring! Which featured three different variations of this pretty floral bag. I got the beautiful blue bag with red roses.

 

IMG_7742 (2) wmIMG_7741 (2) wm

Vera Mona eye shadow in Clover

Inside I received a gorgeous pinky-peach eye shadow from Vera Mona called Clover. I love this color, it is right up my alley and not to mention very flattering on. My only gripe with it, is that it doesn’t last very long (even with primer,) and it needs a lot of building up. Overall I’m pleased with the color and the fact that it is a full sized sample! I included some swatches with the Mellow blush below.

 

IMG_7743 (2) wmIMG_7744 (2) wm

Mellow Blush in Bronze

My second full sized sample was a blush from Mellow Cosmetics called Bronze. Yes it confused me at first too. I planned on using it for an all-over light bronzer. Then I tried it as an actual blush and it looks very nice. I mean, it looks gorgeous just sitting there too! It is a natural peachy color that adds a soft warmth to the face. I don’t have exact wear times on it yet, but I’m loving it so far!

 

IMG_8041 (2) wmIMG_8048 (2) wm

Swatches of Vera Mona eye shadow & Mellow blush

In the first picture the first swatch is one swipe of the Vera Mona eye shadow, the second is the eye shadow built up, and the third swatch is the Mellow blush after building it up. It is hard to see the actual beautiful color of the Vera Mona eye shadow in the pictures. It has a peachy shimmer that catches the light, but a pink base. In the second picture you can almost see the pink undertones better. Also, in the second picture I blended out the Mellow blush.

 

IMG_7751 (2) wmIMG_8031 (2) wm

 NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Kitten Heels

I’m already obsessed with NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams so when I received this full sized Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick I was overjoyed. This shade is called Kitten Heels and is a beautiful orangey-red. I absolutely love the formula, it literally feels like nothing is on your lips. It is not drying nor does it look dry on. Liquid suede is a perfect description because it is just so smooth on the lips. It doesn’t ever fully set so be prepared for some transfer. It also doesn’t have the great cake smell that the lip creams do, but at least there is no lingering fragrance that is off-putting. I just need NYX to come out with some more colors for this formula now…

 

IMG_7748 (2) wm

 Beau Gachis Paris eye shadow brush

Yet another full sized item was this Beau Gachis eye shadow brush. One can never have too many eye shadow brushes and this one is a great addition to my collection. It has soft, slightly tapered bristles which make it perfect for picking up product and placing on the lid. It seems to be shorter than some brushes I own, however it is actually slightly bigger than my Real Techniques eye brushes. I have not had any bristles fall out as of yet, so I’m pleased with the quality so far.

 

IMG_7750 (2) wm

Organic Surge Hand & Nail Cream

Lastly, I received this natural and organic hand and nail cream by Organic Surge. If you are ingredient conscious then check out this brand. I received the lovely Lavender Meadow fragrance and it smells just as described! It is strong at first but fades once absorbed. I already am in love with this product and Ipsy has now sparked my interest in this brand!

Overall I was extremely pleased with my Ipsy Glam Bag! I can not believe how many full sized products I received. Even the hand cream sample was decently sized to get a good feel if I liked the product or not. If you are looking for a fun makeup related subscription, I’d say give Ipsy a try for the $10 it is a month.

What are your thoughts/experiences with Ipsy? Don’t forget if you have a Love Pink post to let me know so I can add it to my weekly series!

bella bee sig

Don’t forget to chat with me on Twitter and Instagram XOXO

P.S. None of my links are sponsored, however I used the referral links from my Birchbox and Ipsy!

 

12 thoughts on “On Wednesday’s we…

Leave a Reply

